shopify analytics

Product Reviews

20:03 PM
04th Dec 2019

Lucy

If you ever light a fire you need this, saves time and money. Just bought a new one the old one lasted 25 years, we have a fire every day in the winter so that’s a lot of fires! Would never be without one so quick no faffing with firelighters or kindling.

18:49 PM
04th Dec 2019

Julia preston

Great product. My son is going to treat himself for Christmas.

16:02 PM
04th Dec 2019

Val Parson

So good I bought one for my son for Christmas

12:21 PM
04th Dec 2019

Marie-Louise

Superb product. Does exactly as it advertises. No negative points at all. Excellent service and fast delivery.

10:38 AM
04th Dec 2019

Mary-Jane

We have had one of these before, about 10 years ago, which lasted very well. The ordering was so easy and it arrived in very quick time. We are very pleased. Also it was cheaper than buying it through Amazon!

10:06 AM
04th Dec 2019

John

Excellent product have had one for 20 years and still going strong. The new one is for our daughter.

17:08 PM
27th Nov 2019

Adrian Clarkson

Had our Grenadier firelighter for around 25 years now. Not had to replace any parts in that time. Takes away all uncertainty and faff around lighting all the smokeless fuels I've used in that time! Very useful in the BBQ season as well. Highly recommended bit of kit - I've certainly had value for money.

16:22 PM
22nd Nov 2019

Mike Cowan

We've had one now for about 5 years and why we didn't get one before G.O.K.!
Wouldn't be without it.

08:56 AM
29th Oct 2019

Lee Hughes

Hello just to say that your product is really fantastic I have had one in my pub (with four fires) used for the entirety of the cold season for over four years and it has been an absolute trooper and has worked flawlessly even after being left on all day accidentally. That is all I just wanted to let you know what a durable and utterly fantastic product you have made. And thankyou xxx

12:14 PM
28th Oct 2019

Anthony & Kate

A huge thank you to Julian at Grenadier Firefighters Ltd for supplying my Alfa Allegro pizza oven.
Julian's customer service was exceptional and myself and Kate could not be happier.
Our pizza oven arrived two days ago and today I lit it up for the first time. Over the moon with it quite frankly.
Julian, thanks again for your help.


We will stay in touch regarding our progress with the new venture.


Kind Regards,
Anthony & Kate

14:46 PM
25th Apr 2019

Richard

Absolutely fantastic service and could not be more pleased with the product! Roll on winter..!!

14:59 PM
27th Mar 2019

Billy

Glad I bought this, works a treat, especially with anthracite which can be difficult to light.
Nearly bought a cheaper made in China one, luckily I read the reviews of these poorly made lighters, which when they breakdown you have to throw them away.
Grenadier is worth the money,repairable as well, as all parts can be sourced.

12:23 PM
27th Mar 2019

Sophie Ratcliffe

We could not live without our Grenadier! It is the most brilliant piece of kit - we use it for our log fires and our bbq and it is invaluable. We have just decided to treat ourselves to a new one having replaced various part of our extremely ancient one over the years (it was the Grenadier firelighter equivalent of Trigger's broom!) and whilst it was still going we felt it deserved a semi-retirement. That is the other wonderful thing about these firelighters - every part is replaceable which is miracle in the modern age. Thank you Grenadier.

11:51 AM
27th Mar 2019

Roger Thorpe

A nice easy device to use which does exactly what I expected

14:47 PM
15th Mar 2019

Red

Fantastic product, bought this for my parents and they use it every time they have a fire.

03:42 AM
23rd Feb 2019

Mario Merlo

Great product, great service

18:12 PM
22nd Feb 2019

James forsythe

First class service next day delivery great product

16:31 PM
22nd Feb 2019

Kathy Edge

I come from a family of coal merchants we have always used the Grenadier firelighter, and couldn't be without one now. Would highly recommend it, they are so easy to use.

13:23 PM
22nd Feb 2019

Emma Cowin

I thought to order this ingenious appliance before a possible hard Brexit. ☹️ as a UK national living in France for many years. I’ve never seen anything equivalent in France.

Excellent service & delivery.
I mistakenly ordered a UK plug. Grenadier called me the next day to check I hadn’t made a mistake.

Was delivered within 3 days.

Highly recommended.

10:14 AM
13th Feb 2019

Janet Veness

The firelighter is just amazing.I saw this at my Sisters and thought how easy it was to use.I was tired of using the usual paraffin soaked blocks and my fire collapsing.This I can say is one on the best gadgets I have ever bought.I would really recommend buying one to save the frustration of fire lighting.

16:50 PM
30th Jan 2019

Javier

Everything was perfect! Great product!!

15:01 PM
27th Jan 2019

Ian and Christine Arter

A very useful product with quick and efficient heat up. I also use it for pre-heating my woodburner in the very cold weather. When I ordered the Grenadier it was delivered promptly without any problems.

13:01 PM
25th Jan 2019

CAROL

Fantastic product works well

19:36 PM
24th Jan 2019

SYW

This was a very, very last minute Christmas present for my parents-in-law. I received excellent personal service and communication and it arrived on time! I understand it has been used on a regularly basis and is easy to use so it has lived up to our expectations. Thank you so much!

19:34 PM
24th Jan 2019

Ray B

What a FIRST class product , I've had one for 7 years and when my son had a log burner fitted that was his Christmas present sorted.
Seems an expensive product BUT once you use one , you couldn't do without.

18:43 PM
24th Jan 2019

Mrs Catherine Morton

Great company. Our firelighter was (I think unusually) faulty. It was collected within an hour and returned in two days. They were courteous, prompt and the firelighter itself is splendid - an essential gadget - no more smelly firelighters!

16:06 PM
24th Jan 2019

John Williams

I live in an old house in the North Highlands of Scotland. For some years I have lit my multifuel stove in late August & let it out in April or May.
Having the Grenadier means I can let the stove out every night & relight it reliably without messing about with morning wood, paper & the like in less time than it takes to make a cuppie - the result being about a 20% saving in fuel cost. The Grenadier, though quite expensive, therefore pays for itself in less than 20 weeks including electrical running costs with no loss of comfort as the stonework retains enough heat over each night .

15:52 PM
24th Jan 2019

Victoria Bingham

Excellent for both inside and for bonfires!! We love ours and had got this one to give to a friend who was giving us a very generous New Year. But she already had been given one for Christmas!! Quite the 'must have' present clearly!!

14:21 PM
24th Jan 2019

Peter Simkins

~This is a brilliant product, lights anything and it is so quick.
Great for getting the flue up to temperauture quickly

14:07 PM
24th Jan 2019

Toussaint

Very glad of my purchase!

13:47 PM
24th Jan 2019

Savary

Thanks so much

13:36 PM
24th Jan 2019

Philip Ingleby

Great product - love it. No mucking around with matches and newspaper - clean and effective.

10:18 AM
29th Dec 2018

Judith Hurst

Rigged up and pointed into wood burning stove to watch the magic happen - and it did. Very impressive piece of kit/would recommend.

07:55 AM
17th Dec 2018

Toni

I thought I was being very extravagant buying this product but having used it for a few weeks now I think it well worth the money.

01:31 AM
17th Dec 2018

Roisin Steele

Delighted with product

20:01 PM
16th Dec 2018

Alan Parfitt

Lights hard to light anthracite every time. Solidly built- not cheap but worth it.

19:04 PM
16th Dec 2018

Elizabeth

Great company to deal with. Very quick and professional. Thank you.

18:44 PM
16th Dec 2018

Anna

I love this product. As I was never a girl guide so am hopeless at lighting fires this takes the hassle out of it. No more paper and fire lighters just switch it on and away you go, in minutes you have a lovely burning fire.

16:23 PM
16th Dec 2018

Andy McPherson

Do you remember?

There was a time when technical fully engineered products were designed to function and were relied upon to be effective long service and unquestionably fit for purpose. I may be a little "long in the tooth" but my experience of most manufacturers over recent years is that they no longer adopt this approach.

It is with great praise that I say Grenadier has changed my jaundiced opinion.

I have owned a Grenadier Firelighter for about 10 years. This product is excellent quality and the customer service provided is second to none

Well done Grenadier.

10:15 AM
17th Nov 2018

Adrian Clarkson

I've had my Grenadier Firelighter for 25+ years now and cannot imagine life without it. It's especially great for lighting hard manufactured smokeless fuels such as Ancit/Phurnacite which are virtually impossible to light any other way!! It also finds use in the summer with the BBQ.
Early on I bought a replacement nozzle to have as a spare - not had to use it yet!!
Highly recommended!

03:09 AM
12th Sep 2018

Susan

Very good personal service. Have not used the fire pit yet as it is a Christmas present for my husband. Looks lovely. Delivery excellent. So hope it lives up to expectations.

18:51 PM
06th Sep 2018

brian may


I have been using one for 40years+ and purchased (with my brother) at least 30 in that time, mostly as wedding presents

14:25 PM
06th Sep 2018

Donald Cumming

Brilliant service through sales to delivery. Lovely quality of oven with clear instructions. It’s provided hours of entertainment as both a talking point and a producer of excellent home made pizzas! Thank you.

06:43 AM
06th Aug 2018

Heidi

Excellent product, well made and looks really stylish.

18:27 PM
27th Jul 2018

Steve Billett

First impressions are good - solid, well made and very nice finish to the bowl - it's a really attractive fire pit. Works really well and easy to keep clean so overall very happy with the product and would recommend!

22:23 PM
26th Jul 2018

Sandra Tilley

I am so very pleased with this item, never before have I enjoyed using charcoal burners, this one is amazing, so neat and compact, easily moveable for safe keeping.
Very happy with the service provided, many thanks Julian.

11:34 AM
09th May 2018

FELIX PARKER

The Grenadier removes any excuse for not having a fire. I love it and would quite happily have a fire going all year round and The Grenadier enforces this!

22:20 PM
05th Apr 2018

Christine Sladden

What did we do without this wonderful product?

19:30 PM
05th Apr 2018

Mark Muddiman

Best Electric Firelighter on the Market.

15:07 PM
05th Apr 2018

John

The Grenadier is a very effective firelighter. It is easy to use and certainly safer than the gas poker I used before.

19:18 PM
27th Mar 2018

Brighton Dude

I use mine with a multi-fuel stove and the fuel is Homefires Ecoal50 which it seems to light up just fine.

If you have a multi-fuel stove or a wood burning stove then I recommend you measure the height you'll need. I can't "fire" the Grenadier through grating at the front of the stove as the holes in the grating are too small and my guess is that is usually the case. So it has to go over the grating and in my case that means using the taller stand which is an optional extra.

Using it is much easier than messing with kindling and all that. Also if for some reason you don't succeed in lighting, by say withdrawing it too early, then all you have to do is put it back. If kindling doesn't light the fire then you have to redo it all again.

12:20 PM
05th Mar 2018

Bruce Baker

An excellent product, removes the need for firelighters, but laying some kindling under some types of coal, will produce a quicker flame.

09:09 AM
09th Feb 2018

Peter Kemp

Does what it says, brilliant. Saves time and effort, no kindling, no paper, no firelighters.
Everyone should have one if you have a fire to light.

21:19 PM
08th Feb 2018

Raymond

Lighting a fire is now so easy. Fifteen minutes and a roaring fire. The Grenadier looks and feels like a well built bit of kit.
Only took a few days to arrive.

20:51 PM
08th Feb 2018

Robin Nicholl

We had one of these when I was a child (don't know who made it, but it was very similar, if a little larger). It competed with the gas pokers we also had, but was quite a bit faster. The Grenadier does exactly what I expected it would, and gets a fire going from 0 to flaming in minutes. One of the best investments I've made recently: stops all the fiddling with firelighters and kindling, or winding up old newspapers (which doesn't work so well with the Guardian iPad app anyway!). I would definitely recommend it.

09:24 AM
10th Jan 2018

Rory Barratt

The Grenadier Firelighter is a life changing piece of kit! No more looking for kindling or worrying about damp logs - this machine lights anything you give it.
Great service and good value

22:12 PM
09th Jan 2018

Sean Quinn

This is my second Grenadier Firelighter. The previous one lasted for 30 years and gave brilliant service during that time in what was admittedly, a holiday house so it wan't fired up every day in winter, just at weekends. Unfortunately, at the end of its life, it started blowing the mains circuit-breaker (trip switch) so we bought a new one. It seems marginally quieter than its predecessor, though just as efficient. I should have bought the accessory tall stand as our fire front is quite high. I have to remove the log bar from the grate (16" Star Fire) and stand the firelighter on it to reach into the coal, but I have been doing that for years and it is no hassle. It is now quite an expensive investment, but it is preferable to messing about with firelighter blocks etc.

12:17 PM
12th Dec 2017

Simon ward

Really good thing to have particularly this time of year when it is very cold. Everybody probably does this but for those that don't the following is my experience of how to use the grenadier. I lay the fire with kindling I then point the barrel up the chimney to get rid of the cold air in the flue, once this is done I then point the nozzle at the kindling, this I have found prevents smoke blow back.

18:35 PM
10th Dec 2017

Rose Lewis

We have bought this as a Christmas present for our daughter. We have had one for years and think it is great!

21:05 PM
07th Dec 2017

Caroline Thomas

Excellent service - supplied quickly and with due consideration to the needs of the customer. I can only review the one I have owned for about 25 years which is still excellent. This one is for a gift.

12:17 PM
30th Nov 2017

H Gosling

I would like to thank you very much indeed for your splendid service in dealing with our Grenadier Firelighter made in 1971.

Your service has been excellent, and I know that people are usually fairly quick to complain when things are not right, but you have done an excellent job here. I think the design of the carton in which you returned the unit was exceptional.

All is well. it is now blowing hot air as required and I fear that I shall not be alive in another 46 years if it needs repair again then!

I just wanted to take the time to write and thank you for your service.

16:31 PM
07th Nov 2017

Dan Mortimer

The most amazing Firelighter ever invented. Works really like magic. Wished I had found out about it so many
years ago. You deserve a knighthood

17:35 PM
06th Nov 2017

Mrs Melanie J Young

Excellent service from start to finish. Easy to order, immediately despatched, kept informed of progress and well packaged.
Thanks to the instructions easy to assemble and use. Works exactly as it should and takes the hassle out of lighting our stoves.
Would highly recommend both your firm and this product.

12:14 PM
06th Nov 2017

S N Steele

Just love it. Arrived next day.
Does what it says on the box, cosy in no time!

13:40 PM
27th Jun 2017

Janice Hillerby

Fantastic, you can cook pizzas in only a few minutes, literally, barbecue & also smoke your own chicken, salmon, trout, whatever you want. Well impressed with this, and I've only had it a week.

13:47 PM
22nd Jun 2017

David Edmundson

Great Product

I have used this product for nearly one year and enjoyed it very much. It is easy to keep clean and looks great after each time its been used, the heat output is very impressive and retains heat from the bowl for a long time.

22:07 PM
07th Jun 2017

Michael Wells

Superb! Made in South Africa where they know a thing or two about how to cook on a fire. I am so impressed with this fire pit - it's far better quality than a metal bowl style.

21:33 PM
03rd Jan 2017

David Duffy

An unexpected benefit of my Grenadier is that a fireplace which smoked badly on startup, now behaves perfectly, as the grenadier seems to heat the chimney before igniting the wood - my wife was delighted.
Having said that, I cannot now envisage having a wood fire without this device - the effortless bliss is beyond price!

17:45 PM
27th Nov 2016

Emma Tysoe

Just a quick line to thank you for the wonderful service received from your company. We had an issue with a product and you immediately offered to test it for us. It was thoroughly investigated by your technical department and returned very promptly with a clean bill of health. It has since worked perfectly and we feel confident that it will do for a great many years. Your customer service approach is wonderful - warm and assuring and nothing seemed too much trouble - even calling to check we were happy. Thank you .

16:41 PM
14th Jun 2016

Toni Pagett

Just wanted to say thank you for the amazing customer service I received from you when I ordered one of your pizza ovens. It is by far the best customer service I have ever received and I have subsequently recommended your company and products to everyone I speak to! My husband is also extremely happy with the pizza oven he received for his birthday - looking forward to many a fun pizza making party!

16:55 PM
06th Apr 2016

Steve Birchall

My kids bought me a grenadier firefighter for Christmas. A pretty unusual Christmas present! I love a gadget and my log burner! The firelighter is really easy to use and pretty impressive! I've got my chimnea and fire-pit lined up for the summer nights! Really pleased with it, fantastic!

13:34 PM
22nd Oct 2015

S Goodale

Everyone should have one! We loved it so much after seeing it around a friends ! We bought one and have just bought another for our parents it saves on kindling , keeping newspaper, fire lighters etc.... All you need is coal or logs or a mixture of all !!! Takes 10mins - so have a bath get the tea on whatever and when you are finished a lovely fire - don't have much ashes left in grate!

13:28 PM
03rd May 2015

Mark Dorber

A brilliant buy! I bought it for our wood burning stove. I had to make a small stand to raise the height by 10cms. Another bonus is that the glass does not mark nearly as much as when I used. Zip firelighters, I bought the Grenadier because Zip were getting too small and had to use 2 or 3. Delighted with the Grenadier. It's very well made and it seems the design hasn't changed for ages.

13:36 PM
11th Jan 2015

Cleric

I have coveted the idea of one of these for years as it is incredibly difficult to light Homefire Ovals - we live in a smokeless zone. Finally got exasperated with firelighters this Christmas New Year someone gave us some money and I used it for this. Why didn't we get one the first time I thought about it? Absolutely superb so clean and effortless - throw some ovals in the grate switch on and that's it job's a good 'un!! Almost as effortless and as clean as lighting the gas fire. Thoroughly recommend it although would still be resentful of paying the price out of my own pocket although initial thoughts are build quality seems good but time will tell. . .

16:52 PM
23rd Dec 2013

Andrew Katz

This thing is the dogs. Its design is essentially unchanged in the last 40 (at least) years, but that's no bad thing - the one my grandparents had was great, and so is the one I've just bought.
It's very solidly made, from steel, mainly, and there's no reason it shouldn't last for many, many years. There tip at the end of the tube where the hot air comes out is especially thick, and it's designed to be removable and replaceable when it's shrunk from 5 inches long to around 2 inches. I would imagine that in average use, it takes about 10 years for the tip to burn down this far. I can't think of many appliances which are designed with spare parts that are likely to last this long!
If you haven't used one before, it's simplicity itself. It's also important to realise that the flow of the

16:34 PM
20th Dec 2013

Jon Walker

This is the best an quickest firelighter I have ever had. Reliable, efficient, and very easy to use. I can thoroughly recommend this appliance to anyone who has struggled with lighting a fire in the past!

16:42 PM
08th Dec 2013

Peter Herbert

For lighting difficult fires, damp coal or wood, the Grenadier is utterly brilliant, clean and quick. Would not be without it. Ours is going strong after 12 years.

16:45 PM
01st Dec 2013

Sean Manuel

Had it for many months now - and it never fails. Use it for lighting kindling under coal open fire place as well as wood burning stove. Even used it to light barbecues in the Summer. But be sure to read and follow operating and safety instructions

16:48 PM
28th Nov 2013

Ronald Ritchie

I love the Grenadier Firelighter, I have osteo-arthritis and now I have a new multi fuel stove, the lighter has been a great asset and help to me, as not able to always get down to light paper at back of the stove. No need for that now with the Grenadier Electric Fire lighter.
I am over the moon with my purchase. Thank you.