shopify analytics

Product Reviews

14:57 PM
12th Mar 2021

Sue Dowding

This is an absolutely brilliant product . Lights my wood burner within a minute . Very clean and very safe and efficient . Can thoroughly recommend . May seem expensive but the saving on firefighters and kindling etc soon adds up .

14:29 PM
16th Feb 2021

Bradley Welland

Not only is the Grenadier Firelighter an excellent product but the customer service from Grenadier is excellent.
We have had the Firelighter for 10 years, and use it regularly throughout the winter to light our fires. The element needed replacement recently and rather than having to replace the unit, I rang Grenadier, explained my problem, ordered a replacement element, fitted it with the instructions provided and now we have a Firelighter which is working better than before. Very pleased with the level and timeliness of customer service and support provided, i.e. problem was resolved including receipt of element within 48 hours. If only more companies provided honest, reliable, prompt service like this company.

20:40 PM
15th Feb 2021

Antoine West

The Grenadier Electric Firelighter is very effective. I use it in our open fireplace for getting wood and coal to light and also giving the fire a boost. The Firelighter is reassuringly solid and is clearly well made and built to last. I would not hesitate to recommend it fulsomely.

14:39 PM
25th Jan 2021

Christopher de Mattos

A convenient, easy to use product. We have two Grenadier Firelighters, one of which has given excellent service over many years. Highly recommended!

19:08 PM
24th Jan 2021

Alistair Wright

Purchased two Grenadiers, one for Dad, and one for me. We’re both very impressed, good build quality, and it lights coal in approximately, two minutes. Recommended.

09:19 AM
24th Jan 2021

Suzanne Stevens

Fantastic - it lights the fire really quickly. No need for masses of kindling and certainly no fire lighters. It is so much safer than using a gas poker and much lighter to carry. We are thrilled with it and cannot imagine why more people don't use them.

 

16:49 PM
23rd Jan 2021

Christopher John Bowley

When I bought this I wasn't sure it would be up to the job. I need not have worried. It is the best thing since sliced bread. It's fast, efficient, effective, labour-saving, even stylish. I wish I had bought one years ago. I can't recommend it highly enough. It was my Xmas present to me last year - a huge success.

14:29 PM
23rd Jan 2021

David Rudd

I have used one of the firelighters for over 20 years very successfully and without problem. The heat element finally gave out on us last month and so we ordered a new firelighter and a replacement element so that we will hopefully have a firelighter in reserve once I get around to replacing the element. Both items were delivered very quickly and were extremely well packed.
Overall Excellent!

09:04 AM
23rd Jan 2021

chris browne

This is a brilliant and straightforward device. I have been using a gas poker for 30 years to light my 2 fires at a present winter cost of £40 per month. The absence of butane supply provoked me to try an alternative and the Grenadier will pay for itself in 4 months. It is also more efficient and safer , no more gas for me.

08:36 AM
23rd Jan 2021

Martin Thomas

Brilliant device! We saw one for the first time at family friends igniting open wood fires very quickly and boosting them as needed. We returned home and bought one ! Delighted , it’s well constructed and highly effective.

08:36 AM
23rd Jan 2021

Nick Baker

I was given my grenadier fire lighter a few years ago and it has been wonderful my wood burner is in a single story extension and the fire would smoke badly when lighting but by running the grenadier for a couple of minutes to warm the chimney first the fire then lights perfectly.
I have just purchased another new one for my daughter for her new wood burner and she loves it!

05:00 AM
23rd Jan 2021

Malcolm Forbes

I was surprised how quickly my logs started burning in an open fireplace

19:44 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Robert Clifton

I've had a Grenadier Electric Firelighter for about 40 years but it belonged to my parents originally who probably had it 20+ years before me. The firelighter stopped working earlier this winter and I considered buying spares for it but then decided to buy a new one as it was very old. It's money well spent as it is so easy to light the fire with it, and it is well built.

19:42 PM
22nd Jan 2021

wendy

I saw one of these in use forty years ago...then forgot all about it.
My ex-husband had fire-lighting (and spending) tightly under his control... using more than one match would indicate weakness and spending this amount on an alternative – deliquency.
Happily now ex, and pretty good at trdititional firelighting, yet the external flue can sometimes have a tricky down draft...
This Grenadier is one very big match!
It doesn't go out until the fire is well alight... a couple of minutes max and is completely reliable...so there's no 'will it or won't it? '
Remember that old VW advertisement ...if only everything in life was as reliable as...
Enjoy!

17:12 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Mark

A great piece of kit. We’ve used it for a few weeks and it has worked perfectly. Clean and quick. Keep advertising this boon to mankind!

16:55 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Charles Bradford

This bit of kit is marvellous and worth the money. No more screwing up newspapers and fighting the cold air down draught in the flue which could on really cold days fill the room with smoke. It’s such a pain when that happens. Really enjoy lighting the log burner now. Start by heating the flue for 10 to 15 minutes before loading the grate and igniting it. Meanwhile you can get on with other jobs or make your breakfast!

16:07 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Jean Bayley

Great product and excellent service very quickly done.

14:42 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Sam

I was a little sceptical about this product but was recommended to get it by my daughter in law.
I have to say it is a brilliant piece of kit, gets my log burner away, without kindling or firelighters in less than a couple of minutes. My smokeless fuel stove using briquettes took a little longer maybe 5 mins at max but again without any kindling or firelighters.
Brilliant product.
Heartily recommend it, oh and the service from the company was equally brilliant, ordered one day, here the next. Spot on.

14:25 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Julia

Would give this product 6 stars, used one about 5 years ago at my place of work. The updated version is amazing.... fire lit in less than 5 minutes, only wish I had invested in one earlier after a couple of years of using firelighters .

13:45 PM
22nd Jan 2021

suzanne guise-mist

An excellent product a must have also excellent service.

13:45 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Mike

We have a high chimney but when the weather is bad the flue would sometimes not draw when we first lit the stove (dew point, air pressure?). The room filled with smoke which would put us off lighting it. The Grenadier has solved that. Point it at the fire bricks at the back of the stove with the heat on for a couple of minutes, then turn the heat onto the kindling, and you have an instant fire. No smoke, no firelighters, easy peasy. My wife rolled her eyes when she saw me buy another gadget but even she is delighted with it!

13:16 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Sally Weston

Brilliant service
Speedy delivery
Secure, neat packaging
Excellent product. I couldn’t survive a winter without my firelighter. I have bought them for my family over the years, who also wouldn’t like to be without.
Happy customer for over 30 years.

13:10 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Chris Burdon

We changed chimney sweeper and highlighted the fact that the stove was exceptionally smokey. He recommended you and it has revolutionised our wood burner use.
Not only does it light better with virtually no smoke, the window is much cleaner and easier to clean.

13:09 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Jerry Matthews

I have used a Grenadier for many years for both coal and wood fires. I would never go back to the days of paper, kindling and matches. I recently bought another as a gift for my son's new home. Happy to see it's the same high-quality product.

13:01 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Barry Tyre

Saves so much messing about with fire lighters ,kindling ,paper etc . Usually gets an initial ignition glow after about 2 mins and takes about 5 mins max to get a coal fire well ablaze ( even with damp coal )
The actual bit of kit is a bit bulky but it’s now happily residing under a nest of tables and is completely out of sight .

12:59 PM
22nd Jan 2021

mary

It works, an amazing piece of kit.

12:55 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Callum Sayers

Excellent product. As we have moved to smokeless fields we have found them harder and harder to light. This avoids the need for any firefighters and allows to use the one fire much more frequently.

12:48 PM
22nd Jan 2021

David Canning

I have a wood burning stove in my living room. My procedure every morning was to clean it out, insert bundled up newspaper, add kindling and lastly anthracite.
Fetch the blow torch and give it a blast.
It was fiddly and time consuming.
I saw an advertisement in the daily paper for Grenadier and thought that I should try one. I purchased the 3 yard lead and the higher stand to fit my stove.
It is great, now that I have the hang of it ,I have the stove lit and burning in approx. 10 minutes.
I now just place wood logs on bottom of grate cover them liberally with anthracite stick the Grenadier to it, 5 minutes it is well lit, and another 5 minutes with the heat off.
It’s as simple as that.

12:39 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Arndt Eade

Recommended by a friend and we nearly didn’t buy given the price BUT glad we did. It’s really excellent at lighting a fire - no more paper, no more kindling, no more hassle. It’s sturdy and well made so we’re expecting it last for many, many years. It’s also good to support a British company.

12:24 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Michael Bradley

Excellent product for lighting wood burner

12:10 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Chris

The Grenadier fire-lighter does everything as stated in the advertisements. Really pleased with it, easy to use & very effective. Glad I decided to go ahead and buy it. Well built, great piece of kit.

12:04 PM
22nd Jan 2021

Mark

Great product, works really well to start my open fire. Fast delivery, would recommend

11:56 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Colin Penny

Having tried a Swedish product that prematurely failed, the Grenadier is better and easier to use.

11:49 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Beatrice Reed

Absolutely excellent product which was efficiently and very promptly delivered

11:47 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Mark

Excellent product. We had reached the point in life where we really wanted to retain the pleasure of an open fire, but without the labour of kneeling down tending to the lighting of it. The Grenadier has helped to keep the home fire burning!

11:46 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Viv Barrett

Christmas present for my husband who absolutely loves this
Quick and easy to use
No more smelly chemical blocks that we used to have
The Grenadier looks good enough to sit on the hearth
Was concerned that the small stand would be a problem but the nozzel fits through the grate to heat the wood just fine

11:44 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Ed Everard

A great piece of kit. It lights our smokeless fuel in about 10 minutes every time. No more sticks and firefighters, so it will pay for itself within 12 months.

11:30 AM
22nd Jan 2021

mike McGarry

This product is awesome. Very quiet and lights my woodfire in minutes, also because it blows hot air up the chimney and starts a upflow, it gets rid of cold air blocks before there is any smoke so you get a fast clean ignition of the fire with no smoke in the room.
On top of that is is very well built and looks like it can be taken apart and repaired when the time comes rather than thrown on a landfill site like so many consumer goods these days. Does look very durable so will repay it's cost many times over. As I said an awesome product, wish there were more consumer goods like this.

11:27 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Rod Jones

I have looked at these for some time to light my wood burning stove. Having purchased one recently I really don’t know why I waited so long. It is a fabulous bit of kit, very sturdy, so easy to use and lights my logs in less than 3 minutes.

11:18 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Jonathan

Had one for over 30 years never failed and still going, decided to get another as a present for a friend.

11:12 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Sam Marsh

It does what it says on the tin, it lights fires, quickly and easily.
I use it to light a mixed coal, wood fire , which it does without fuss.
I should have bought one years ago!

11:00 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Charlie

This mighty little gadget is inexpensive, clean, quiet and utterly reliable. Unfortunately, we sell logs and kindling in our Game Shop and I have to keep a straight face when I load up people's cars with mesh bags full of sawdust and old leaves! The team - brilliantly lead by the unflappable Julian are extraordinarily prompt and efficient and we have bought at least three Grenadiers as presents in the last few years, including one to Ireland - and even that arrived with only slight delay! (High praise indeed, that last bit).
We are 'Big Fans' (sorry)

11:00 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Daniel

Fantastic bit of kit and made in the UK! Well made and looks great.

10:59 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Roz

I use this nearly every day to light my open fire and I would not be without this product. This is the third one of these I have owned. The first one was bought for me by my mother 40 years ago and this is only the second replacement. I think that speaks volumes.

10:51 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Christopher

Excellent and uncomplicated product that does exactly what you want it to.

10:45 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Nigel Turnbull

An amazing piece of kit worth every halfpenny. Lights smokeless fuel easily with no need for firelighters or kindling ever again. Brilliant!

10:45 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Sarah W

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my parents who have both an open fire and a stove. They are absolutely delighted with it and say it takes the hassle out of fire lighting and they are far more inclined to light their fire now as it makes the process so quick and easy.

10:39 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Richard Lowe

Brilliant product - can not fault this. Well worth the investment with perfect fire within 10 minutes.

10:35 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Richard Boas

Does what it is supposed to do!

10:31 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Anthony English

A birthday present from my son - we have 2 log fires in the Languedoc France where fires are necessary when the wind blows from the Pyrenees. The Grenadier gets our 5 ft wide open log fire roaring in under 3 minutes. Brilliant when we leave it for 3-4 hours lunching.. a couple of minutes with the Grenadier and its blazing away again.
The Log burner starts easily anyway so its only used on the open fire but Im looking forward to the spring as I have plans to fire up my outside Pizza oven with it and maintain a constant heat.
Brilliant. a Great Mans Toy!

10:26 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Loop

Very good product

10:25 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Kevin Holden

Brilliant - exactly what we needed.

We have a log burner with an external chimney and unless chimney is warmed first we get blow back with smoke from our fires. The grenadier does a superb job of warming log burner and outside chimney. Since using the Grenadier we have zero smoke in our lounge.

I think Grenadier should market this feature more as am guessing many are in same boat as I was until I purchased this product.

Would highly recommend

10:22 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Nigel Metson

I have been using The Grenadier Fire Lighter for over 20 years. We have a log fire every night from November to April and it makes lighting the fire so easy. If the logs are dry kindling is not necessary although if you have some you will have a roaring fire in two minutes.
I also use it to light a wood stove. Before putting the paper and kindling in I run it for about two minutes to warm the chimney. This avoids any smoke coming back into the room from a cold chimney. I then put the paper and kindling in the stove, fire up the grenadier and within about 90 seconds the fire is roaring.
The best invention ever. I will be lost if we have a power cut !
I gave one to my son for Christmas.

10:21 AM
22nd Jan 2021

susan abbott

I am very pleased with my Grenadier firelighter. Easy and quick to use with no mess. Excellent product.

10:08 AM
22nd Jan 2021

James Provan

Absolutely delighted with your service and the Grenadier.

09:57 AM
22nd Jan 2021

christopher wain

British product very well made and extremely efficient and supported by very good service from the company.

 

09:57 AM
22nd Jan 2021

David Kavanagh

Fantastic piece of kit and my only regret is not having bought one sooner. Forget newspaper and kindling, lighting the fire with the Grenadier is an absolute cinch!

09:56 AM
22nd Jan 2021

David Knapman

Very good. Does exactly what it says it does

09:55 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Mrs J Gupwell

I bought an electric firelighter for my son for Christmas, having owned one at home and one at our holiday home for years and found them invaluable. He is absolutely delighted with it as he lives in an old house with open fires in half the rooms, including the bedroom. His wife is also thrilled with it as she now finds lighting a fire when he is not at home much easier! Delivery was quick and efficient and the whole process of purchasing the firelighter was a pleasure. I would not hesitate to recommend Grenadier to my friends and have, in fact, done so many time.

09:53 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Tim Shepley

We bought a Grenadier firelighter after borrowing our parents, and it being a huge improvement on the one we had.
Service and product were both fantastic.

09:50 AM
22nd Jan 2021

cath.booker@icloud.com

I have used a Grenadier Firelighter for over 20 years and recently replaced it. I recommend it to everyone I know with a fire or wood burner.
I’ve also bought one for a member of the family as a Birthday gift,
Just chuck the coal in the grate and flick the switch, a fire in less then 5
Brilliant product ! couldn’t live without it.

09:50 AM
22nd Jan 2021

mark

Chrissie Prezzie for darling Margles....... she has always been an independent woman and now doesn't need to rub two boy scouts together to make a fire! She is delighted........ and so am I!

09:48 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Nigel Boothman

Wish I'd bought one years ago. Lights the smokeless coal briquettes in our open fire in 5-10 minutes and lights the wood in our woodburner in seconds. It's also pretty quiet, small and light. Most importantly it has taken the chore out of having a fire...no more building it with paper, kindling and firelighters, crawling about on your knees and so on. So we use the fires more often.

09:47 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Richard Mason

Lovely company to deal with and we have two

09:46 AM
22nd Jan 2021

RUFUS ALBEMARLE

AS AN EX PRODUCT DESIGNER AND NOW FARMER I UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF SIMPLICITY, EASE OF USE & RELIABILITY. THE GRENADIER DOES JUST THAT! NO MORE, NO LESS AND HAS A "FORM FOLLOWS FUNCTION" CHARM ABOUT IT.

09:45 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Alastair Gordon

No more chopping kindling for my woodstove. No more firelighter blocks. Easy and cheap to use. I wish I had bought one years ago.

09:44 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Andrew Clarey

This is undoubtedly the best and most useful product that I have bought in years. I cannot believe all the pain and sorrow that I have undergone over years of lighting my stove with kindling and firelighters when this product does it so easily and efficiently.

09:41 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Stephen

Did exactly what it said. Fast and efficient service. So much more convenient than struggling to light fire the old fashioned way. Many thanks.

09:39 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Sarah Whittaker

We have used this product for years. Recently just bought a third one (as we have holiday cottages with wood fires). I do not know why everyone with an open fire does not use one - they are a must have!

09:38 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Julia Chapman

Such a great product - has transformed the messy business of firelighting! Very simple and easy to use.

09:37 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Tilly Fuller

This Christmas present for my husband keeps him warm in his study in these cold, lockdown months in his new WFH set up ! It lights the fire in minutes and is so easy and efficient, creating a much needed warm glow in crazy times !

09:37 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Anthony Clay

This is a superb product which I have recommended to others resulting at least 4 new sales.
What I specially appreciate is that instead of messing about with the original design which was near perfect, the quality, price and functionality of this splendid product have remained the same.

09:33 AM
22nd Jan 2021

Nicola Horsfall

Excellent product and I have had one for 40 years. The only bad thing for you is that they last so long we don't have to buy them every year! Please never stop making them as I couldn't possibly light a fire myself.

16:53 PM
21st Jan 2021

PAUL BLACK

Had this appliance for years had no problems, fitted new nozzles , had new motor about 10 years ago, just ordered new element. Well worth any money spent on it 100% satisfied.

13:11 PM
12th Dec 2020

Steve Hunt

Amazingly good piece of kit. We have a problem flue that the experts have failed to fix, but the grenadier warmed up the flue and we had a roaring fire within minutes, and no smoke in the room.
A well built piece of kit, I'd recommend it to anyone 100%.

02:11 AM
04th Dec 2020

Edwin McAuley

At last! A product which truly not only matches the expectations but exceeds them! Works perfectly just as described, even with "problem" flues. Truly built to last with sheet steel and proper screws, no wonder you suggest 20 years life as normal. If only Dyson built things this way! On-line sales service and delivery (to southern Spain) very efficient and painless.

15:34 PM
18th Nov 2020

Sean C

I have owned my Grenadier fire starter for around 10 years now and can honestly say its one of the best items I have ever purchased. It goes on every night for around 6 months of the year and it is just fantastic. Having lost the key, don't ask me how, I've put it in the same place for 10 years, one day vanished, turn the house upside down no avail so order one form you. Again just fantastic service received in 24hrs. Stunning service. Not only is your product about as close to perfection as it gets but your customer service matches it too.

Outstanding!!!

Sean C

17:07 PM
16th Nov 2020

Tilly

Saw this in a friend's house and was so impressed ordered same day. A must purchase for anyone with open fire/wood burning stove.

14:26 PM
11th Nov 2020

tim

Bought my first fire lighter in 1992, and now have just purchased a second for a new fire place. Excellent machine well made and great value.

13:19 PM
09th Nov 2020

Julie Williams

Really, really pleased with our Grenadier.
It lights the fire quickly and cleanly.
No longer have to find newspaper, kindling and buy firefighters.
The grenadier just sets light directly to the logs.
Will save us money in the long term.
Looking forward to using it next summer for the bbq and fire pit.

14:33 PM
02nd Nov 2020

Rob

Loving the Grenadier phenomenon. As the name suggests the product is handsome, uncomplicated, highly efficient and highly effective. It takes the hassle out of lighting a fire. Point, plug in and you're away. As simple as switching on a fan heater or radiator really. The customer service in terms of ease of ordering and delivery was as excellent as the product. Thank you!

13:21 PM
27th Oct 2020

Mark

Excellent and speedy service, and packaging. This company is clearly so well run and efficient. The product is also amazing so far.

11:49 AM
26th Oct 2020

Retired gardener29

Easy to use,just turn the key,no paper or firelighters

12:24 PM
21st Oct 2020

Derek Ainsworth

Very efficient quick delivery and the Grenadier - works exactly as portrayed.
Quick and easy.

07:39 AM
18th Oct 2020

Colin Templeton

A fantastic product!! This is my second machine I use for my stove with the higher stand. Brilliant if you let the fire go out you can restart using this device. No more fire lighters.

11:00 AM
14th Oct 2020

Dr L

Superb product - lights Homefire Ovals from stone cold in a couple of minutes Superb spare part supply - delivered next day and extremely well packaged Superb company to deal with. Thank you, and please use this if helpful. Dr L

10:41 AM
03rd Oct 2020

Chido

Absolute game changer!
We live in France with no central heating We got this for Christmas and now with no kindling or fire starters we hsve a roaring fire in minutes. When it stopped working properly I called the team up and they were lovely and helpful and sorted it right there and then on the phone. Reccomend this to everyone!

22:15 PM
02nd Oct 2020

Chris Boyle

Fantastic gadget, caught my attention watching beyond the lobby at The Torridon hotel. No more smoking chimneys and no more wasted time, love it

19:28 PM
27th Sep 2020

Paul Arnell

Absolutely fabulous bit of kit. It makes lighting the fire so easy. It’s a must for wood burning fires or stoves

07:45 AM
19th Aug 2020

Claire Thorp

Speedy delivery, excellent product - very pleased

16:13 PM
18th Aug 2020

Jeremy

Brilliant bit of kit. Use it to light my solid fuel Aga and heating stove. How nice to find something made in the UK that you can get spares for.

06:36 AM
05th Aug 2020

Marc

Fast delivery, easy product to set up and works perfectly.

16:58 PM
28th May 2020

peter j muir

I have used grenadiers for years - they are magic in every way.

21:46 PM
14th Apr 2020

Jeff Coombs

Excellent product which saves so much time and effort.

21:56 PM
10th Apr 2020

Denise McConaghy

I love this fire lighter and would never return to messing about with firelighters and sticks again .

16:30 PM
10th Apr 2020

Colin

Have had a fire lighter for 30 years and I have had only to replace the nozzel from time to time. A great product

10:46 AM
10th Apr 2020

David Goss

Great service, quality spares.

22:43 PM
09th Apr 2020

Ann

It has transformed fire lighting for me. The reason for purchase was a marked deterioration in the quality of the coal, such a struggle to light. This has efficiently solved my problem, perhaps the higher stand would have been useful, but I am managing.

21:02 PM
09th Apr 2020

James Hobbs

After spending many frustrating weeks using firefighters I decided to purchase a grenadier.

Although not inexpensive, as a long term purchase this device has proven invaluable. Would thoroughly recommend to anybody with a log or coal fire.

20:35 PM
09th Apr 2020

Jeremy Bloxwich

We have been using a Grenadier for many years now and successfully replaced a couple of elements during its lifetime. It has been a real friend and lighting our 3 fires has been a relatively clean and simple process. We would not be without this great little machine.

11:44 AM
03rd Apr 2020

Neil

Well it certainly works!!
I’ve recently moved into a very ancient property with enormous fire places and was really struggling to build enough heat to get a decent fire going…. the combination of fire starting with the 'electric bellows’ once lit, is superb. I had my first proper fire on the very first day of ownership.
Definitely a gadget that I shall continue using - and one I will recommend.
Thanks

12:48 PM
22nd Mar 2020

Barbara Anderson

I bought my Grenadier on 2nd December 2002 and it is still going strong! I would not be without it - it is wonderful!

14:06 PM
15th Feb 2020

Mrs E North Yorkshire

After years of lighting fires and wood stoves, I’d become frustrated recently with modern fire lighters going out. An old friend told me to get a Grenadier. Now the huge dog-grate fire roars away in moments, the wood burning stove ‘takes off’ in a jiffy. Worth every penny. Support British industry and get one!

13:22 PM
23rd Jan 2020

david hill

Bloody marvellous !!!!!!

12:15 PM
23rd Jan 2020

Jane loveless

Excellent product. Bought as a present for my husband to save him all the extra effort of starting our wood burner. He is delighted with it!

10:13 AM
23rd Jan 2020

V C A

Fab present for those who want to move away from firelighters and a really efficient and clean way to start a lovely fire!

16:49 PM
02nd Jan 2020

Barbara Ryan

I brought this in December, as not able to get the multi fuel stove to work with coke/smokeless fuel at all. It is wonderful, I am able to sit down every evening to a lovely warm fire, no mess worries or bother. It is much quiter than I expected, and really effective, so pleased I found this product.

20:03 PM
04th Dec 2019

Lucy

If you ever light a fire you need this, saves time and money. Just bought a new one the old one lasted 25 years, we have a fire every day in the winter so that’s a lot of fires! Would never be without one so quick no faffing with firelighters or kindling.

18:49 PM
04th Dec 2019

Julia preston

Great product. My son is going to treat himself for Christmas.

16:02 PM
04th Dec 2019

Val Parson

So good I bought one for my son for Christmas

12:21 PM
04th Dec 2019

Marie-Louise

Superb product. Does exactly as it advertises. No negative points at all. Excellent service and fast delivery.

10:38 AM
04th Dec 2019

Mary-Jane

We have had one of these before, about 10 years ago, which lasted very well. The ordering was so easy and it arrived in very quick time. We are very pleased. Also it was cheaper than buying it through Amazon!

10:06 AM
04th Dec 2019

John

Excellent product have had one for 20 years and still going strong. The new one is for our daughter.

17:08 PM
27th Nov 2019

Adrian Clarkson

Had our Grenadier firelighter for around 25 years now. Not had to replace any parts in that time. Takes away all uncertainty and faff around lighting all the smokeless fuels I've used in that time! Very useful in the BBQ season as well. Highly recommended bit of kit - I've certainly had value for money.

16:22 PM
22nd Nov 2019

Mike Cowan

We've had one now for about 5 years and why we didn't get one before G.O.K.!
Wouldn't be without it.

08:56 AM
29th Oct 2019

Lee Hughes

Hello just to say that your product is really fantastic I have had one in my pub (with four fires) used for the entirety of the cold season for over four years and it has been an absolute trooper and has worked flawlessly even after being left on all day accidentally. That is all I just wanted to let you know what a durable and utterly fantastic product you have made. And thankyou xxx

14:46 PM
25th Apr 2019

Richard

Absolutely fantastic service and could not be more pleased with the product! Roll on winter..!!

14:59 PM
27th Mar 2019

Billy

Glad I bought this, works a treat, especially with anthracite which can be difficult to light.
Nearly bought a cheaper made in China one, luckily I read the reviews of these poorly made lighters, which when they breakdown you have to throw them away.
Grenadier is worth the money,repairable as well, as all parts can be sourced.

12:23 PM
27th Mar 2019

Sophie Ratcliffe

We could not live without our Grenadier! It is the most brilliant piece of kit - we use it for our log fires and our bbq and it is invaluable. We have just decided to treat ourselves to a new one having replaced various part of our extremely ancient one over the years (it was the Grenadier firelighter equivalent of Trigger's broom!) and whilst it was still going we felt it deserved a semi-retirement. That is the other wonderful thing about these firelighters - every part is replaceable which is miracle in the modern age. Thank you Grenadier.

11:51 AM
27th Mar 2019

Roger Thorpe

A nice easy device to use which does exactly what I expected

14:47 PM
15th Mar 2019

Red

Fantastic product, bought this for my parents and they use it every time they have a fire.

03:42 AM
23rd Feb 2019

Mario Merlo

Great product, great service

18:12 PM
22nd Feb 2019

James forsythe

First class service next day delivery great product

16:31 PM
22nd Feb 2019

Kathy Edge

I come from a family of coal merchants we have always used the Grenadier firelighter, and couldn't be without one now. Would highly recommend it, they are so easy to use.

13:23 PM
22nd Feb 2019

Emma Cowin

I thought to order this ingenious appliance before a possible hard Brexit. ☹️ as a UK national living in France for many years. I’ve never seen anything equivalent in France.

Excellent service & delivery.
I mistakenly ordered a UK plug. Grenadier called me the next day to check I hadn’t made a mistake.

Was delivered within 3 days.

Highly recommended.

10:14 AM
13th Feb 2019

Janet Veness

The firelighter is just amazing.I saw this at my Sisters and thought how easy it was to use.I was tired of using the usual paraffin soaked blocks and my fire collapsing.This I can say is one on the best gadgets I have ever bought.I would really recommend buying one to save the frustration of fire lighting.

16:50 PM
30th Jan 2019

Javier

Everything was perfect! Great product!!

15:01 PM
27th Jan 2019

Ian and Christine Arter

A very useful product with quick and efficient heat up. I also use it for pre-heating my woodburner in the very cold weather. When I ordered the Grenadier it was delivered promptly without any problems.

13:01 PM
25th Jan 2019

CAROL

Fantastic product works well

19:36 PM
24th Jan 2019

SYW

This was a very, very last minute Christmas present for my parents-in-law. I received excellent personal service and communication and it arrived on time! I understand it has been used on a regularly basis and is easy to use so it has lived up to our expectations. Thank you so much!

19:34 PM
24th Jan 2019

Ray B

What a FIRST class product , I've had one for 7 years and when my son had a log burner fitted that was his Christmas present sorted.
Seems an expensive product BUT once you use one , you couldn't do without.

18:43 PM
24th Jan 2019

Mrs Catherine Morton

Great company. Our firelighter was (I think unusually) faulty. It was collected within an hour and returned in two days. They were courteous, prompt and the firelighter itself is splendid - an essential gadget - no more smelly firelighters!

16:06 PM
24th Jan 2019

John Williams

I live in an old house in the North Highlands of Scotland. For some years I have lit my multifuel stove in late August & let it out in April or May.
Having the Grenadier means I can let the stove out every night & relight it reliably without messing about with morning wood, paper & the like in less time than it takes to make a cuppie - the result being about a 20% saving in fuel cost. The Grenadier, though quite expensive, therefore pays for itself in less than 20 weeks including electrical running costs with no loss of comfort as the stonework retains enough heat over each night .

15:52 PM
24th Jan 2019

Victoria Bingham

Excellent for both inside and for bonfires!! We love ours and had got this one to give to a friend who was giving us a very generous New Year. But she already had been given one for Christmas!! Quite the 'must have' present clearly!!

14:21 PM
24th Jan 2019

Peter Simkins

~This is a brilliant product, lights anything and it is so quick.
Great for getting the flue up to temperauture quickly

14:07 PM
24th Jan 2019

Toussaint

Very glad of my purchase!

13:47 PM
24th Jan 2019

Savary

Thanks so much

13:36 PM
24th Jan 2019

Philip Ingleby

Great product - love it. No mucking around with matches and newspaper - clean and effective.

10:18 AM
29th Dec 2018

Judith Hurst

Rigged up and pointed into wood burning stove to watch the magic happen - and it did. Very impressive piece of kit/would recommend.

07:55 AM
17th Dec 2018

Toni

I thought I was being very extravagant buying this product but having used it for a few weeks now I think it well worth the money.

01:31 AM
17th Dec 2018

Roisin Steele

Delighted with product

20:01 PM
16th Dec 2018

Alan Parfitt

Lights hard to light anthracite every time. Solidly built- not cheap but worth it.

19:04 PM
16th Dec 2018

Elizabeth

Great company to deal with. Very quick and professional. Thank you.

18:44 PM
16th Dec 2018

Anna

I love this product. As I was never a girl guide so am hopeless at lighting fires this takes the hassle out of it. No more paper and fire lighters just switch it on and away you go, in minutes you have a lovely burning fire.

16:23 PM
16th Dec 2018

Andy McPherson

Do you remember?

There was a time when technical fully engineered products were designed to function and were relied upon to be effective long service and unquestionably fit for purpose. I may be a little "long in the tooth" but my experience of most manufacturers over recent years is that they no longer adopt this approach.

It is with great praise that I say Grenadier has changed my jaundiced opinion.

I have owned a Grenadier Firelighter for about 10 years. This product is excellent quality and the customer service provided is second to none

Well done Grenadier.

10:15 AM
17th Nov 2018

Adrian Clarkson

I've had my Grenadier Firelighter for 25+ years now and cannot imagine life without it. It's especially great for lighting hard manufactured smokeless fuels such as Ancit/Phurnacite which are virtually impossible to light any other way!! It also finds use in the summer with the BBQ.
Early on I bought a replacement nozzle to have as a spare - not had to use it yet!!
Highly recommended!

18:51 PM
06th Sep 2018

brian may


I have been using one for 40years+ and purchased (with my brother) at least 30 in that time, mostly as wedding presents

11:34 AM
09th May 2018

FELIX PARKER

The Grenadier removes any excuse for not having a fire. I love it and would quite happily have a fire going all year round and The Grenadier enforces this!

22:20 PM
05th Apr 2018

Christine Sladden

What did we do without this wonderful product?

19:30 PM
05th Apr 2018

Mark Muddiman

Best Electric Firelighter on the Market.

15:07 PM
05th Apr 2018

John

The Grenadier is a very effective firelighter. It is easy to use and certainly safer than the gas poker I used before.

19:18 PM
27th Mar 2018

Brighton Dude

I use mine with a multi-fuel stove and the fuel is Homefires Ecoal50 which it seems to light up just fine.

If you have a multi-fuel stove or a wood burning stove then I recommend you measure the height you'll need. I can't "fire" the Grenadier through grating at the front of the stove as the holes in the grating are too small and my guess is that is usually the case. So it has to go over the grating and in my case that means using the taller stand which is an optional extra.

Using it is much easier than messing with kindling and all that. Also if for some reason you don't succeed in lighting, by say withdrawing it too early, then all you have to do is put it back. If kindling doesn't light the fire then you have to redo it all again.

12:20 PM
05th Mar 2018

Bruce Baker

An excellent product, removes the need for firelighters, but laying some kindling under some types of coal, will produce a quicker flame.

09:09 AM
09th Feb 2018

Peter Kemp

Does what it says, brilliant. Saves time and effort, no kindling, no paper, no firelighters.
Everyone should have one if you have a fire to light.

21:19 PM
08th Feb 2018

Raymond

Lighting a fire is now so easy. Fifteen minutes and a roaring fire. The Grenadier looks and feels like a well built bit of kit.
Only took a few days to arrive.

20:51 PM
08th Feb 2018

Robin Nicholl

We had one of these when I was a child (don't know who made it, but it was very similar, if a little larger). It competed with the gas pokers we also had, but was quite a bit faster. The Grenadier does exactly what I expected it would, and gets a fire going from 0 to flaming in minutes. One of the best investments I've made recently: stops all the fiddling with firelighters and kindling, or winding up old newspapers (which doesn't work so well with the Guardian iPad app anyway!). I would definitely recommend it.

09:24 AM
10th Jan 2018

Rory Barratt

The Grenadier Firelighter is a life changing piece of kit! No more looking for kindling or worrying about damp logs - this machine lights anything you give it.
Great service and good value

22:12 PM
09th Jan 2018

Sean Quinn

This is my second Grenadier Firelighter. The previous one lasted for 30 years and gave brilliant service during that time in what was admittedly, a holiday house so it wan't fired up every day in winter, just at weekends. Unfortunately, at the end of its life, it started blowing the mains circuit-breaker (trip switch) so we bought a new one. It seems marginally quieter than its predecessor, though just as efficient. I should have bought the accessory tall stand as our fire front is quite high. I have to remove the log bar from the grate (16" Star Fire) and stand the firelighter on it to reach into the coal, but I have been doing that for years and it is no hassle. It is now quite an expensive investment, but it is preferable to messing about with firelighter blocks etc.

12:17 PM
12th Dec 2017

Simon ward

Really good thing to have particularly this time of year when it is very cold. Everybody probably does this but for those that don't the following is my experience of how to use the grenadier. I lay the fire with kindling I then point the barrel up the chimney to get rid of the cold air in the flue, once this is done I then point the nozzle at the kindling, this I have found prevents smoke blow back.

18:35 PM
10th Dec 2017

Rose Lewis

We have bought this as a Christmas present for our daughter. We have had one for years and think it is great!

21:05 PM
07th Dec 2017

Caroline Thomas

Excellent service - supplied quickly and with due consideration to the needs of the customer. I can only review the one I have owned for about 25 years which is still excellent. This one is for a gift.

12:17 PM
30th Nov 2017

H Gosling

I would like to thank you very much indeed for your splendid service in dealing with our Grenadier Firelighter made in 1971.

Your service has been excellent, and I know that people are usually fairly quick to complain when things are not right, but you have done an excellent job here. I think the design of the carton in which you returned the unit was exceptional.

All is well. it is now blowing hot air as required and I fear that I shall not be alive in another 46 years if it needs repair again then!

I just wanted to take the time to write and thank you for your service.

16:31 PM
07th Nov 2017

Dan Mortimer

The most amazing Firelighter ever invented. Works really like magic. Wished I had found out about it so many
years ago. You deserve a knighthood

17:35 PM
06th Nov 2017

Mrs Melanie J Young

Excellent service from start to finish. Easy to order, immediately despatched, kept informed of progress and well packaged.
Thanks to the instructions easy to assemble and use. Works exactly as it should and takes the hassle out of lighting our stoves.
Would highly recommend both your firm and this product.

12:14 PM
06th Nov 2017

S N Steele

Just love it. Arrived next day.
Does what it says on the box, cosy in no time!

21:33 PM
03rd Jan 2017

David Duffy

An unexpected benefit of my Grenadier is that a fireplace which smoked badly on startup, now behaves perfectly, as the grenadier seems to heat the chimney before igniting the wood - my wife was delighted.
Having said that, I cannot now envisage having a wood fire without this device - the effortless bliss is beyond price!

17:45 PM
27th Nov 2016

Emma Tysoe

Just a quick line to thank you for the wonderful service received from your company. We had an issue with a product and you immediately offered to test it for us. It was thoroughly investigated by your technical department and returned very promptly with a clean bill of health. It has since worked perfectly and we feel confident that it will do for a great many years. Your customer service approach is wonderful - warm and assuring and nothing seemed too much trouble - even calling to check we were happy. Thank you .

16:55 PM
06th Apr 2016

Steve Birchall

My kids bought me a grenadier firefighter for Christmas. A pretty unusual Christmas present! I love a gadget and my log burner! The firelighter is really easy to use and pretty impressive! I've got my chimnea and fire-pit lined up for the summer nights! Really pleased with it, fantastic!

13:34 PM
22nd Oct 2015

S Goodale

Everyone should have one! We loved it so much after seeing it around a friends ! We bought one and have just bought another for our parents it saves on kindling , keeping newspaper, fire lighters etc.... All you need is coal or logs or a mixture of all !!! Takes 10mins - so have a bath get the tea on whatever and when you are finished a lovely fire - don't have much ashes left in grate!

13:28 PM
03rd May 2015

Mark Dorber

A brilliant buy! I bought it for our wood burning stove. I had to make a small stand to raise the height by 10cms. Another bonus is that the glass does not mark nearly as much as when I used. Zip firelighters, I bought the Grenadier because Zip were getting too small and had to use 2 or 3. Delighted with the Grenadier. It's very well made and it seems the design hasn't changed for ages.

13:36 PM
11th Jan 2015

Cleric

I have coveted the idea of one of these for years as it is incredibly difficult to light Homefire Ovals - we live in a smokeless zone. Finally got exasperated with firelighters this Christmas New Year someone gave us some money and I used it for this. Why didn't we get one the first time I thought about it? Absolutely superb so clean and effortless - throw some ovals in the grate switch on and that's it job's a good 'un!! Almost as effortless and as clean as lighting the gas fire. Thoroughly recommend it although would still be resentful of paying the price out of my own pocket although initial thoughts are build quality seems good but time will tell. . .

16:52 PM
23rd Dec 2013

Andrew Katz

This thing is the dogs. Its design is essentially unchanged in the last 40 (at least) years, but that's no bad thing - the one my grandparents had was great, and so is the one I've just bought.
It's very solidly made, from steel, mainly, and there's no reason it shouldn't last for many, many years. There tip at the end of the tube where the hot air comes out is especially thick, and it's designed to be removable and replaceable when it's shrunk from 5 inches long to around 2 inches. I would imagine that in average use, it takes about 10 years for the tip to burn down this far. I can't think of many appliances which are designed with spare parts that are likely to last this long!
If you haven't used one before, it's simplicity itself. It's also important to realise that the flow of the

16:34 PM
20th Dec 2013

Jon Walker

This is the best an quickest firelighter I have ever had. Reliable, efficient, and very easy to use. I can thoroughly recommend this appliance to anyone who has struggled with lighting a fire in the past!

16:42 PM
08th Dec 2013

Peter Herbert

For lighting difficult fires, damp coal or wood, the Grenadier is utterly brilliant, clean and quick. Would not be without it. Ours is going strong after 12 years.

16:45 PM
01st Dec 2013

Sean Manuel

Had it for many months now - and it never fails. Use it for lighting kindling under coal open fire place as well as wood burning stove. Even used it to light barbecues in the Summer. But be sure to read and follow operating and safety instructions

16:48 PM
28th Nov 2013

Ronald Ritchie

I love the Grenadier Firelighter, I have osteo-arthritis and now I have a new multi fuel stove, the lighter has been a great asset and help to me, as not able to always get down to light paper at back of the stove. No need for that now with the Grenadier Electric Fire lighter.
I am over the moon with my purchase. Thank you.